Motherhood

Choose Joy, Daily

I am a young mother of a 21 month old girl and I am pregnant with my second daughter. I am also a wife of 3 years to a God fearing man, a sister to two wonderful young ladies, and a daughter to amazing parents.  So often I find myself overwhelmed with the anxiety and hardships of every day life. My daughter often catches me crying and it breaks my heart when she looks at me with concerned eyes and asks “Kay, Mom? Kay?” while holding my face.

I am reminded that I need to take each day as it is and stop to find the beauty in it, even when it seems impossible. I’ve realized that I can’t get lost in the darkness of the bad and I need to look to the things that make me happy instead. Things like my daughter giggling down the hallway while my husband chases her, my dog basking in the sunlight and enjoying the warmth.. the quality time I get to spend with my sisters and parents. There are so many things to be thankful for and I believe that each day is truly a gift.

It is so easy for us to get consumed with every day life and the challenges that come with it. Quite often we forget that being joyful is a choice and we choose to be angry, sad, stressed, or fearful instead. We need to take the time to settle our minds and choose joy… choose joy, daily.

Leave a Reply

